Al-Marhum Syed Yusof Zawawi’s Youngest Daugther Wedding

As always, weddings are occasions that you can meet old friends. That was what many of us did last night during the wedding of Sharifah Hanaa, the youngest daugther of our al-marhum Mufti of Terengganu in the 1960s and 1970s, Syed Yusof Al-Zawawi.

Most of the late mufti’s children were the Sulaimanian, such as Syed Salleh – the only that permanently resides in Terengganu (Batu Burok area), Syed Abdul Fattah (we were classmates for so many years – right from the primary school days at SSPS1), Syed Mohd Zaid (Syed Zed – MCE1976), and I cannot recall the names of their other siblings.

So, during the wedding reception at one of the new hall along Jalan Raja Chulan (correction: Jalan Bukit Bintang), there were Tg. Mahmud, Fauzi (Kattang) Abu Bakar, Syed Sallehuddin, Zamri Sulaiman (Cikgu Chema’s younger brother), Bidin Nazar and Yunus Abu Hassan – they were all MCE76 – my junior.

All of us came alone except for Fauzi who was accompanied by his wife (seen here in the photo on the left talking to Syed Zed).

It was a surprise for many of us to see Syed Zed showing his multi talents. Firstly as the wedding couple walked in the hall towards the dias, he used his powerful voice to lead the “salawat”. Later, he mesmerised the crowd with some oldies with his own band of musicians (with own equipments/instruments).

Sitting at the other side of the hall I also met with Halimaton Daim with her husband and her mother too. Unfortunately, I was too busy talking with her and her mum (whom I have not met for so long – she used to do her marketing at the same pasar tani as we do). I had never seen her ever since Halimaton’s father passed away).

It was unfortunate that I also forgot to have Syed Fattah’s latest photo taken. But here is a photo of him taken earlier this year during a gathering at Bukhori’s house.

~ by akarimomar on December 19, 2009.

6 Responses to “Al-Marhum Syed Yusof Zawawi’s Youngest Daugther Wedding”

  1. […] The other sibling of Safri and Sofian is Bidin Nazar who was of MCE1976 batch. I just met Bidin (together with many other Sulaimanians) during the wedding of the youngest daugther of Syed Yusof Al-Zawawi (our almarhum former mufti of Tr… […]

  2. I would like to thank Karim for the kind compliments and also for sharing the occasion with the rest of Sulaimanians on the block.I wish I could invite more but due to time constrains and not up to me to invite(as it was not my wedding)I could only manage to call the regulars and those who really know my family e.g.Bidin Nazar,Yeah(Zamri Sulaiman),Prof Dr.Tg.Mahmud,Yunus Abu Hassan,Fauzi AB(Kattang)&Syed Sallehuddin.Too bad I couldn’t get through to Awie(Tg.Alawiyah)as she’s quite close to my sisters. Sharifah Robeah also didnt make it that night.Anyway I am glad we had the small reunion that night and thank you guys for coming even on a very short notice.

  3. Zed, Thanks for inviting us and putting all of us in a little private corner. I believe we all enjoyed it – except for the blasting loudspeaker you placed next to our table.
    But we all were mesmerised when you became Andy Williams with “Where do I begin”.
    You may again invite us and more for your “second” – since this wasn’t actually yours.

  4. Surprisingly the photos of the wedding are not made available!

  5. zed, i was very close with dr syed salleh and syed ali, were you the one after ali? i can remember what we knew you as at the time, sometimes i and pilot nik nordin lepak at your house, knew your father and mother quite well. the only sister that i remembered was tumi. would like to meet up with you some time.

  6. […] The other sibling of Safri and Sofian is Bidin Nazar who was of MCE1976 batch. I just met Bidin (together with many other Sulaimanians) during the wedding of the youngest daugther of Syed Yusof Al-Zawawi (our almarhum former mufti of Tr… […]

Leave a comment